October 2015 In Review: The Life of A Health Coach

Oct2015Review

In an effort to be as transparent and real as possible with my readers, clients, and program members, I decided this year to start a monthly blog update on:

“The Life of a Health Coach”

because I’m no different than you. I have great things that I accomplish each month on my journey to improving my health coach business and my life… but I also suffer setbacks and challenges to overcome. If this sounds like something you’re interested in reading more about… keep on…. But if you’re strictly here for the health/weight loss information, I’ll still provide lots of that (just not in this post). So, here are some great results that came from October 2015 for me:

 

I wrote articles:

If you're new to my website, chances are good that you found me through one of the articles I've written for another company/blog/magazine. This month, I contributed to Mind Body Green and Huffington Post. I'm trying more and more to focus my writing attention on ONLY writing about what my readers care about. Sometimes, that's hard because my interests (and what I think my readers SHOULD want to know about) don't go over well. So, expect more weight loss related articles with maybe only hints of other stuff.

 

I created the 7 Day Transformation Challenge:

INTROcoverbefore&afterwithbutton

This is a free 7-day challenge that has something new to work on each day. One thing I've noticed over time is that people like information, but they really want to be challenged to apply it! So, here's how to do it. I'm really impressed with myself on the quality I put into this free challenge. I always try my best to make everything really nice, but the quality of this opt-in is better than anything I've done in the past. I guess that shows progress, right? Click here if you wanna get in on this challenge, too.

 

I've been changing up my newsletter to add more value:

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 10.46.24 PM

Over the last month or so, I've been surveying and segmenting my newsletter mailing list. I've been trying to give my readers more of what they want and weed-out those who are looking for quick-fixes or other health coaches trying to copy me. Part of that process includes a new "I want you to unsubscribe from this list" email that is sent out a few days after they receive my free ebook. I know it's a risky idea, but people unsubscribe over the course of a few weeks anyways for various reasons. I don't want to waste anyone's time. So, this little three-minute video ought to help make new subscribers make the right decision for them. 😉 Plus, my assistant Lola make the video more enjoyable to watch.

 

I finished the 2nd session of the 8 Great Ways To Lose Weight program:

I was pretty surprised by the turn out for October's session. October through December just aren't peak months for most folks wanting to lose weight and get healthier. We all know that, right?

I was blown away by the participation with the members for this session in our secret Facebook community. Both new members and some of August's members were sharing so much. Great conversations and insights! And most members took their 1-on-1 sessions (because that's the #1 thing most of August's members liked the most about the program). The program was overwhelmingly positive for the most part. Of course, there are many things I will be improving for January 2016 to meet the needs/wants of the program members, but overall, it was a very positive process again. These ladies may feel like they learned a lot from me, but I learned a lot from them as well! I'm even more pumped up for January's session now.

 

I've set up another FREE live webinar for Nov 11th:

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 8.38.28 PM

This is one of those topics that keeps coming up… I used to be a "sugar addict" and binge eater. I struggled for a few years. It's something I prayed would just go away so that I could live my life happily. Now, I can teach you how I got over it and how you can do the same! Sign up here: http://bit.ly/transformsugar

 

I went on my first train ride!:

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 6.13.21 AM

It's going to sound silly, but I've ALWAYS wanted to ride on a train! It's been on my bucket list for years. This month, I was finally able to do it. It was a really pretty "autumn colors" tour. The ride lasted about an hour and a half and it went through a couple of tunnels and over a scary bridge. It actually stopped on the bridge and that was only slightly terrifying. Certainly a fun ride for kiddos.

 

I re-vamped my free ebook offer:

My free book offer opt-in was last updated in March 2015. While that wasn't all that long ago, the look and feel of it needed to change. I'm still not 100% happy with it right now, but it looks a lot better without all of the hot pink and cartoons. 😉 I cut out any of the unnecessary junk and really tidied it up. I'm trying to help people… not confuse people. Ha! I anticipate the ebook will go through another editing process in early 2016 as I work on my branding more.

 

I've taken crazy amounts of online classes:

I'm a life-long learner. I hope you are, too. I gather information in a lot of different ways. This month it was mostly about online classes. One way I improve my business is taking classes to improve my skills. I took 3 classes this month. One class was only for 1 hour a day (every day), another class lasted 7 hours for one day, and another class was 7 hours for three days! It's been "interesting" running my weight loss program, developing content, working with my 1-on-1 clients, and doing all of this learning at the same time. It's certainly been time-consuming… but I don't regret a single minute of it. If you're interested, I take free live classes on CreativeLive and you can, too. They offer free replays regularly. You can also purchase their classes and have them forever to watch whenever you want to!

 


 

In every monthly review, I try to also address failures and setbacks that happen during the month and how I handled them. As with every month that goes by, there are people that ask me for interviews or to promote their products… I almost always say "no"…

 

A close friend invite me to a scam MLM meeting:

Have you ever been invited to a multi-level marketing meet up? I've been to several. I do it because I want to support my close friends. However, I have only fallen victim once (back in 2008 I think it was). Sometimes, I wonder if my friends think I'm a sucker. As a business owner, I don't jump onboard with supplements and services quickly. I research a whole lot. I'm not even going to mention the name of the supplement or company on here because I'm not promoting it. This was a company a very popular online health and wellness person in the Paleo community supported in 2010. I'm not sure if he still does, but from what I've read… it doesn't look like it. I apologize in advance if my close friend is reading this. 😉 She already knows how I feel about it.

 

Being the momma to aging dogs is hard:

review doggie

Well, I'm sure true motherhood is 100% harder, but it's also difficult seeing your dogs age and develop new problems. My little Lola has had 2 seizures in the last couple of months. It's scary when it's taking place and heartbreaking afterward because she forgets everything… even me. I learned after the first seizure to purchase Bach Rescue Remedy for dogs and give it to her. That made the second seizure aftermath a lot easier for her. It prevented a lot of the whimpering and hyperactivity. The good part about all of this is the fact that I work from home now. I can be there for both of my dogs when they need me the most. Not many people can do that. So, I feel blessed in that respect.

 

 

 

The following two tabs change content below.
Thank you for reading my posts! If you would like to connect, reach out to me on Facebook or other social media. Don't forget, if you found any helpful information here, please share it on your social networks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.